Author Topic: New member, nice forum!  (Read 1120 times)

July 22, 2005, 12:53:29 PM
  • Suit of Pentacles
Hi,
I'm a new student of AC. I haven't been able to take any classes yet, but have been reading.  I've posted a couple of times but haven't actually introduced myself, so here I am.  I'm reading Marta William's book now, and I have Carol Gurney's book to read next.  I just finished Amelia Kinkade's book.  

I've always been interested in AC, but what really got me going was when one of our dogs passed away.  We had been very close, and had a strong intuitive bond with each other and it was very hard to feel like I was losing him.  

He'd been ill, and when we couldn't manage the pain anymore for him, we knew had had to help him let go of his body.  I had been listening to some Judith Orloff CDs on intuitive healing, and in them she talked about being present when someone passes over, and not to be afraid of it but to embrace it (my words, I can't remember hers exactly).  And, she said to watch for seeing the person or animal make the transition out of their physical body and of how beautiful that is.

So, from that I mustered the courage to be with him when he was helped in this transition, and while I didn't actually see him leave, I felt it the moment he did, it was a poof feeling, or a sort of an opening, I can't describe it but it felt like a physical sensation, and there was a moment of pure joy, followed by the expected emotions of grief etc.  But that moment will be with me always.

So, without hearing Judith's words on that, I would have missed the experience, and for those who have not been with their pets during that time, take heart and remember for the next time, it is an experience that is not fearful or awful and you gain something in yourself for it.