Author Topic: Meditation to get started  (Read 2446 times)

July 11, 2008, 10:26:09 AM
Hi, everyone!

I realize just hearing the work "meditation" can make a lot of people nervous.  However, it's one very consistent way  that I've found to work for me to get grounded before doing a reading.  I'm NO expert on this subject,  by all means, but I DO want to share some of my thought to you since overcoming the confidence hump was a big thing for me and seems to be a concern to other beginners too! 

It's a very simple thing to do....technically.  You clear your mind from distracing thoughts.  However, a lot of our minds are so used to racing with so many thoughts everyday, we forget how to do this.   And this is something that I am working on too!  I guess I first have to be aware of my thoughts racing.  And it's a challenging thing for me to do since there's just SO much to do (as I'm sure you might agree about your life too!)  But if you can be aware of it, its the first step in changing it.

In terms of what kind of meditations to do, it's really so open!  Just do whatever it takes to clear your mind!  Visualization, concentrating on your breath (inhale, exhale, inhale....), focus on a phrase (I use this...."animal communication is fun and easy."  If I remember correctly, I used this from Carol Gurney's book,  "The Language of Animals...7 steps in communicating with Animals."   People are sensitive in their own ways....some are more visual, some receive feelings, etc.

A new and simple meditation I learned is this....